And That Spells Dallas! My Darlin’, Darlin’ Dallas!

25 Jun

The last two days have been incredibly busy. Sunday was our last performance day in San Antonio, and we had two shows. Between shows I had to count in my inventory and then after the evening show I had to tear down (the theatrical term is “strike”) my display, pack up my booth and make sure everything was secure enough to be packed onto the trucks and moved to Dallas.

Yesterday we travelled from San Antonio to Dallas by bus. Traveling by bus is much easier than flying, in my opinion, but it’s far less comfortable. In terms of time, though, it was the logical choice. The drive was a little over 4 hours. Had we flown, it would have been a 5 hour ordeal getting 50 people to the airport, checked in, through security, etc. And I’m sure it was a lot cheaper, too.

We’re in Dallas for the next two weeks, so we don’t have to worry about traveling again until the 8th, when we’ll fly up to Kansas City, which will be my last city with this tour. I’ll go back to New York for a few weeks, probably spend a week at home with my family in Kentucky, and then I’ll be back out on the road with another show. It makes my head spin to even think about it.

I have to run to the bank before I go to the theatre to set up for tonight’s opening. I’m also going to try to make it to the Sixth Floor Museum (formerly the Texas Book Depository – a.k.a. where Lee Harvey Oswald allegedly shot President Kennedy. Or did he…?) this afternoon. It’s only a few blocks away, so I hope I can fit it in before I have to go to work. If I’m going to to do that, I have to run. Have a good one, y’all!

Leave a Reply

