As Yer Ship Breaks To Bits, From Yer Deck, For A Sec, You Can See My Lovely…

15 Aug

Greetings from the front lobby of the Ellie Caulkins Opera House in Denver, Colorado, where the first national tour of Peter and the Starcatcher is playing its first preview. The last two days have been crazy for me. I can’t even begin to imagine how crazy it’s been for everyone on and backstage.

The marquee for the national tour of Peter and the Starcatcher outside the Ellie Caulkins Opera House in Denver, CO.

The marquee for the national tour of Peter and the Starcatcher outside the Ellie Caulkins Opera House in Denver, CO.

After arriving in Denver on Tuesday, I checked into the hotel, got some lunch and headed to the theatre to start loading in this show. Having worked the show on Broadway, I knew there was a lot of merchandise to count in and fold and I really just wanted to get as much of it done as early on as I could. No need for additional stress when it can be avoided…right? Upon arrival backstage, everything seemed to be going swimmingly – the merchandise had been delivered, the booth was here (one of my biggest fears was that it wouldn’t show up) and my storage hamper was here, too. I was chomping at the bit to get to work, but the cast and crew were in the middle of tech rehearsal, which meant everyone was busy and tired, including the people I needed to help me. I ended up sitting around for three hours waiting to get my booth rolled out to the lobby to get started, only to find out that four of the wheels had broken off of it, making it unmovable. I was told they could fix it, but probably not until today. Now…I had two and half days built in for load in and set up, which is a day longer than we had for Flashdance, but I am here alone this time. I had two people in Pittsburgh helping me load in, fold and display Flashdance.

After sitting around for so long, I decided to take matters into my own hands, which may or may not have violated some union rules, but they were on their dinner break and I couldn’t wait any longer. I emptied out the broken booth, counting inventory as I went, and transferred everything into the empty hamper, which I then rolled out into the lobby myself. I also moved all the boxes of merchandise out front so that I could have as much of my stuff in one place as possible. My plan for Wednesday was to set up the display grid that would be behind the booth, count the merchandise, fold and box up the shirts, dress the mannequins and call it day. Well, luckily the amazing props and carpentry crew for this show took the initiative and put my booth on dollies as a sort of temporary fix so that it would be functional. Hallelujah!! These folks deserve a free hat at very least! They’ve even offered to paint the booth to make it match the set! Amazing. Anyway, when I came in yesterday I was able to get them to roll the booth out front and I set to work. After eight non-stop hours, I had done all I could do, so I packed up and went to dinner.

The booth just before house opened tonight for the first preview of the national tour of Peter and the Starcatcher in Denver, CO.

The booth just before house opened tonight for the first preview of the national tour of Peter and the Starcatcher in Denver, CO.

I don’t know if it’s the thin air or if it was the exhaustion and lack of food, but I felt so weak and tired on my way to dinner last night that I wasn’t sure I was going to make it the four blocks to the restaurant. I’ve not really had any issues with the thin air so far as I can tell, but I do notice that I’m a little more out of breath than usual if I walk at my normal New York pace. I’ve also been sleeping a lot more than usual. In any case, I found a wonderful little cafe that happens to be celebrating their 15th anniversary this month, so they have slashed the prices on their dinner specials. I got half of a roasted chicken with haricots verts and mashed potatoes for $10.99. Seriously?!? It was such a deal that I decided to treat myself in honor of my Mom’s birthday (Happy Birthday, Mom!) that I also had the crème brûlée, which is one of my very favorite desserts. I will definitely be returning to the Rialto Café to try the other specials. The $8.99 chicken pot pie sounds delicious, and it’s right within my price range.

My delicious crème brûlée from Rialto Café in Denver, CO.

My delicious crème brûlée from Rialto Café in Denver, CO.

I’m also very excited to be in Denver because, as I found with Flashdance, I know several people here! A couple of my friends from grad school live here now and a young woman I used to work with in New York has relocated here, as well. The What A Feeling! 2013 Reunion Tour continues…only with a little Starstuff mixed in for good measure.

It sounds like Act One is about to come to an end. And away we go!!

The amazing Rocky Mountain sunset on my first night in town as seen from my hotel room in Denver, CO.

The amazing Rocky Mountain sunset on my first night in town as seen from my hotel room in Denver, CO.

Leave a Reply

