A New Argentina

8 Sep

Greetings from Providence, Rhode Island, where tonight we begin previews of the first national tour of Evita! Yep…that’s right…I’m opening another show. After Peter and the Starcatcher closed in Denver, I flew back to New York for four days to get things together for this tour with my coworkers in the office. That meant pulling merchandise from the storage unit, making sure we had all the pieces for the booths (there are TWO!) and stocking up on office supplies. It also meant loading all that stuff into the booths and wrapping them and then getting them into a moving truck so the freight company could get them up here. There’s nothing more terrifying than trying to get a 900 lb. cabinet across 43rd Street in midday traffic. If it had tipped over or if the wheels had broken off, we’d still be out there picking up t-shirts off the street.

The wheels didn’t break off, though. Well…not until later, anyway. We headed up to Providence on Friday morning and set straight to work meeting company management, meeting the venue’s operation’s manager, placing the booths, counting inventory, folding inventory (we folded approximately 362 shirts), displaying the merchandise and arranging space to maximize storage. It’s quite an operation and took us the better part of two days. In fact, we finished everything just moments before the doors opened last night for the invited dress rehearsal, which I got to watch from the mezzanine. Depending on how busy I am out in the lobby, it may be the only opportunity I get to see the show!

photo

The back booth unit – before.

photo

The front booth unit – before.

Today we have our first preview performance at 1:00 and the second at 6:30. It’s going to be a long day, but I’m really looking forward to getting to work. I haven’t sold at a booth in over three weeks – I’m ready to go! It’s going to be an exciting day, I think. So…here we go!!

photo

The completed Evita setup. All ready to go!

 

One Response to “A New Argentina”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Can One Say About Indianapolis? Not Much, So I’ll Let Menudo Take It From Here… | Confessions of a Merch Whore - October 2, 2013

    […] This time I’m not coming back because I’m permanently moving to the national tour of Evita . I’m really sad to be saying goodbye to these folks and I’m even sadder that […]

Leave a Reply

