Haunting You…Haunting You!

31 Jan

Just like Jessie Spano, I’m so excited! I’m so excited! I’m so…SCARED!! Why, you ask? Well…I’ll tell you.

Years ago, my old roommate came across a video that, to his knowledge, had never seen the light of day. It was a made-for-TV short musical from 1983 called “Love Cycle: A Soap Operetta.” It starred Patti LuPone, who had just won a Tony for Evita a year or two before, Tony Award-winner Priscilla Lopez (the original Morales in A Chorus Line), Lonny Price (Merrily We Roll Along, Rags) and Martin Vidnovic (Oklahoma!, Baby) as well as Walter Bobbie, who would go on to play Nicely Nicely Johnson in the 1992 revival of Guys & Dolls and would win the Tony Award in 1997 for Best Direction of a Musical for the revival of Chicago. Pretty great cast, right? Well, don’t get too excited, because the musical is pretty dreadful. Dreadful enough to be fun, though!

Where else would you see Patti LuPone trapped in a dryer or belly dancing out of a washing machine?  Or how about Walter Bobbie doing the worst Scottish accent in the history of acting? Maybe Priscilla Lopez getting a load of wet towels tossed on her head just as she takes a bite out of a bright red apple…like you do at the laundromat?

I have told so many of my friends about this musical, but it’s never been available for people to watch. I even told Priscilla Lopez that I’d seen it when I met her at the closing night party of Rent. She couldn’t believe that it even existed anywhere. And, as far as I knew, it didn’t – until now! Someone has posted it to YouTube for the world to see, and I’m sharing it with all of you!

Ladies and gentlemen…I give you “Love Cycle: A Soap Operetta.” Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

