Let It Go or Why I’ve Quit Musical Theatre (For Now, Anyway)

4 Mar

This has been floating around Facebook today and, as it turns out, was written by a fellow OCU alumnus. I think it’s incredibly insightful and written from the heart. It very much reflects my feelings on our industry and why I have chosen to leave New York in the hopes of finding a more supportive group of peers elsewhere.

The Art of Making Art

I love musical theatre.  When I was a kid, I used to relish dressing up and singing at the top of my lungs to Gypsy or Sound of Music around my house.  I was obsessed with the ’96 revival of Chicago with Bebe Neuwirth and Ann Reinking, listening to it over and over again.  Fosse was like a god to me; Sondheim even more so.  While I originally wanted to be a ballerina, by the age of twelve, it became pretty apparent I was destined for a career as an actor, specifically one in musical theatre as I not only would get to sing and act but also dance too.  I used to check out tons of old movie musicals from my library and video store like Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (that barn dance still gets me every time) or Streisand’s version of Hello Dolly!  The…

View original post 1,801 more words

Leave a Reply

