If You’re Ever Down In Dallas

15 Apr

580502_10151766768132813_516624938_n
Howdy from the Lone Star State, y’all! I’m (almost) back to where this whole blog experience started – I started writing in San Antonio, which is our next tour stop, but we’re in Dallas for the next two weeks at the Music Hall at Fair Park. We’ve played repeat cities, meaning I’ve already sold in certain venues for Flashdance or Peter and the Starcatcher, but I feel like I was just here with Flashdance, though it was actually back in June. I’m in the exact same selling location with the same staff and I’m even in the very same hotel room I was in so many months ago. It’s like Groundhog Day, only not as hot this time. In fact, it was downright cold last night as I stood on the roof of the parking garage next to our hotel to look at the Blood Moon last night – the very same spot I stood to watch the 4th of July fireworks last year. It’s deja vu all over again…

The Blood Moon as seen from the roof of our parking garage in Dallas, Texas.

The Blood Moon as seen from the roof of our parking garage in Dallas, Texas.

Speaking of the Blood Moon…did you guys see it? It was really pretty cool. I don’t think I’ve ever seen one before, though I know they have occurred in my lifetime. I think it’s funny that people have gotten all apocalyptic about the Blood Moon, claiming it’s God making a statement about some sort of upcoming “event.” From what I remember in Sunday school class, God doesn’t need to announce himself or warn us of when He’s about to do something. “Like a thief in the night…” seems to ring a bell. Just sayin’…

Anyway…enough about that.

This has absolutely nothing to do with anything else I’ve written about tonight, but in the last couple of weeks I’ve discovered a couple of new albums that I’m listening to on repeat. “What are they,” you ask? A Great Big World’s “Is There Anybody Out There?” and Ingrid Michaelson’s “Lights Out,” which actually features a track with A Great Big World. I’ve been a big, big fan of Ingrid Michaelson since her music was heavily featured on the first couple of seasons of “Grey’s Anatomy.” “Keep Breathing,” which was featured in the Season 3 season finale when Yang was left at the altar (yet another of Sandra Oh’s amazing acting moments), is still one of my favorite songs. I was really excited to hear that she was releasing a new album (today) and it’s just as good as I wanted it to be. Quality stuff, folks.

The cover of Ingrid Michaelson's new album, "Lights Out"

The cover of Ingrid Michaelson’s new album, “Lights Out”

You’ve probably heard the new version of A Great Big World’s song “Say Something” that they re-recorded with Christina Aguilera. If you haven’t, you need to hear it. It’s the first time in forever that I feel like Xtina is actually singing and not just grunting and growing and riffing all over the place, and it is one of the most honest, haunting songs I’ve heard in a long time on the radio. It’s pretty great. The rest of their album, however, is very different – sometimes silly, always fun and very uplifting with a musical theatre-meets-Ben Folds vibe. A great listen for long road trips. I look forward to hearing more out of these guys.

Sorry for the hasty post, but Eva’s almost dead and I’m going to have a bunch of Texans out here in a minute buying magnets. Yeehaw!

Leave a Reply

