‘Orange’ You Sorry You Clicked On This Entry?

16 Apr

Hello. My name is Jason and I cannot peel an orange.

Sure, I can get the orange peel off the fruit, so I suppose technically I can peel one, but not without practically squeezing the thing dry before getting it into my mouth. And even then it is coated in a thick white skin that makes me want to gag, so I spend more time attempting to scrape the white stuff off, which inevitably leads to an even bigger mess. Have I mentioned that I have a Masters degree?

As I’ve written previously, I’m back on the Weight Watchers program to lose some weight. As part of the program, I’ve been eating a lot more raw fruits and vegetables than I used to (read: I’m actually eating fruits and vegetables now). I worry about getting bored with my fruit selection, so I try to have a few options on hand – apples, bananas, oranges and grapes…sometimes pineapple – but the oranges are usually the very last thing I eat simply because I can’t be bothered to peel them.

After seeing FoodBeast links about how we’ve been eating bananas and apples incorrectly, I decided to go to the internet to look for tutorial videos on how to properly peel citrus fruit, which eventually led to me buying a citrus peeler. Yes, believe it or not, there is a specific tool for peeling an orange.

The peeler was delivered to my hotel today (thank you, Amazon Prime!) and I tried it out before I headed to work. In my defense, I was in a bit of a rush, but I seemed to make just as much of a mess with the tool as I did without it, and when I’d finished getting the peel off, the fruit was completely covered in that tough white membrane. The creators of the citrus peeler planned for that, though, having built in a scraper of sorts to…well…scrape the white stuff off. The problem with that is 1) it’s entirely too time consuming. I’d pretty much lost interest by that point and was ready for a banana. And 2) an orange is a delicate thing and hacking away at it just made it a pulpy mess in my hand.

So now I’m at a quandary. Am I really so dense that I can’t properly peel a piece of fruit? Is this an issue that everyone has, or is it just me? And short of buying a knife to cut the peel off, how does one skin an orange without leaving that white stuff all over it? Are there certain kinds of oranges that are easier to peel? I enjoy a good clementine from time to time, but I have found that those are kind of hit-and-miss in the flavor department. Some are really sweet and delicious and others just seem to have no flavor at all.

So what’s the skinny on citrus? Do you have any tips or secrets to getting a good, skinless orange?

16 Responses to “‘Orange’ You Sorry You Clicked On This Entry?”

  1. diamondcutter77 April 16, 2014 at 8:53 pm #

    I found your links pretty interesting. I look forward to eating a banana properly! I once got a bit of orange skin stuck under my thumb nail when I was a kid. Worst kind of pain. I remember it to this day. A sharp pain right underneath your nails, that just won’t go away. Gives me chills. I haven’t bothered peeling an orange for myself since. My advice to you would be to forget the oranges. Too much sugar in them anyway. – DC

    • jasonhbratton76 April 16, 2014 at 9:01 pm #

      DC – Thanks! I’m glad you found those links to be of some interest. Who knew you could eat an apple from the top or bottom as opposed to around the sides?? I think I’ll stick to the old fashioned way of doing it… I have experienced the pain of which you speak, but in a paper cut, not under my nail. Hurts like a…well…it’s not pleasant.

      Unfortunately, I’m not at a point right now where I can give up my fruit options, including oranges. I’m still early in the process of getting used to smaller portions and, on Weight Watchers, fresh fruit and veggies have a 0 point value, so I kind of depend on them to help get me through the day. Yes, they do have a lot of sugar, but it’s better than eating a chocolate bar or ice cream as long as you don’t overdo it. As with everything, moderation is key, but if I were a master at moderation, I wouldn’t be on Weight Watchers, would I? Haha!

      I hope you’ll keep poking around the blog. Maybe you’ll find some other things to catch your fancy.

      • diamondcutter77 April 16, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

        Yeah I’ll stick to the sides when it comes to the apple… I don’t know maybe you like oranges more than I do. I’m happy with just drinking the juice itself.

        I’m sorry to say, but the only reason I commented on your blog is due to my unhealthy (or healthy) obsession with fruit. So you’ll never see me again. Ever. No of course I’ll stick around! I’ve just started my own blog so I’m pretty new to the whole thing. Right now I’m all over the place, but I’ll find my way around soon 🙂

      • jasonhbratton76 April 16, 2014 at 9:13 pm #

        Haha it’s better than being hooked on hot cross buns and Galaxy bars, although I don’t think there’s anything quite as good in the galaxy as a Galaxy bar.

        Ironically, on the weight loss program I’m doing, a fresh orange has a 0 point value. A glass or orange juice, however, is 3 points. Weird, huh?

        I look forward to seeing where your blog goes. Will it be about cutting diamonds?

      • diamondcutter77 April 16, 2014 at 9:17 pm #

        That is strange… Even if it was 100% juice? My blog has nothing to do with diamonds unfortunately. I’ve turned to blogging since everyone I know is either watching me on FB or Twitter. I’m leading a secret life here. I can talk about personal things and get stuff off my chest. I used to be able to do all this on twitter, but too many people I know spoil the fun. Diamond Cutter was the first thing that came to mind and 77 is my favourite number.

      • jasonhbratton76 April 16, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

        I see. So you’re really a member of One Dimension or Benedict Cumberbatch coming here to vent about your life. That’s cool. I won’t blow your cover. I get it. 🙂

        I love that Diamond Cutter was “the first thing that came to mind.”

        I used to live in England many moons ago. Two of the happiest years of my life. I haven’t been back in 30 years. Completely unacceptable.

      • diamondcutter77 April 16, 2014 at 9:34 pm #

        Yeah Diamond Cutter is odd. I have no interests in diamonds or cutting. Where abouts did you live?

      • jasonhbratton76 April 16, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

        I’m glad you’re not a cutter. Though that would certainly be a jumping-off point for your blog.

        We lived in a small village called Bookham in Surrey. It’s near Leatherhead, which is a name that I will never forget as it gave me vivid images of some sort of homicidal killer with a leathery head like in “Texas Chainsaw Massacre.” (Is that movie a “thing” in the UK?)

      • diamondcutter77 April 17, 2014 at 6:45 am #

        Yeah I’ve seen it plenty of times. Comes on TV every now and again.

      • jasonhbratton76 April 17, 2014 at 3:12 pm #

        Then you know what I’m talking about. You understand.

  2. Ashley April 16, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

    I just slice them into eighths chunks and eat the middle off if the peel. I can’t peel them either 🙂

  3. mikiepocd April 16, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

    I’m dead serious when I tell you this, Jason. Beat it. Beat the orange with the meat of your hand, back and forth between your hands for 20-30 seconds. This will loosen the peel from the fruit, and make it juicer.

    • jasonhbratton76 April 16, 2014 at 9:28 pm #

      You just wanted to tell me to “beat it” to “make it juicier.” Mikie, you dirty minx! 😉

      I’ll give it a try. I’ve heard of rolling citrus fruits on the table before cutting them to release the juices, but not to loosen the skin. We’ll see how that works!

      • mikiepocd April 16, 2014 at 9:30 pm #

        Bwahahahahaha! Let me know how it goes when you beat your meat!

      • jasonhbratton76 April 16, 2014 at 9:30 pm #

        Careful what you ask for…

Leave a Reply

