I Want A Feast! Cream Buns And Doughnuts And Fruitcake With No Nuts So Good You Could Go Nuts. No, Now!

22 Apr
I Want It Now!

I Want It Now!

I owe you an apology, dear readers. I’m sorry I haven’t been writing more, for one. I’m feeling less-than-inspired about things to write about. Some people believe in just writing every day, no matter the content, but I feel like that’s a waste of everyone’s time and I really don’t want my blog to become known for being full of fluff. That’s not to say that I haven’t been guilty of writing about inconsequential things, but I’d like to think it’s only happened on occasion.

I also need to apologize for the onslaught of weight-related entries you are going to encounter over the next few months. I have a goal and a course of action to reach that goal and that has become a major focus in my life over the last few weeks. I’m working hard at it and it’s not easy and well, honestly, I need the support. Once I’ve gotten a few more weeks of this under my ever-tightening belt, hopefully it will become more second nature to me rather than an effort and I won’t feel the need to talk about it so much. Right now I’m like a scrapbooker who has just discovered a new paper cutter or an extreme couponer – I eat, sleep and breathe Weight Watchers points and portion control. I remember when I was learning Spanish back in high school. I was so interested and enthralled by it that it took over my life and I actually found myself thinking in Spanish. I would even talk to myself in Spanish. I’m finding that the same thing rings true of this new food language I’m learning – I think in points and servings. It’s not at all a bad thing – in fact, it’s a very good thing – but I know it can be annoying. Sorry ’bout it! Just bear with me. It gets better.

The good news is, the program is working! Thursday was my weigh-in day and I’m pleased to announce that I have lost 18.8 lbs. since that dreadful day that I weighed myself in Tampa. That’s about 4.5 lbs. per week, which is fast, even on Weight Watchers. They claim that men lose weight faster than women – especially in the first 3 weeks of being on the program, so I fully expect my weight loss to slow down over the next few weeks to a healthier rate of 1-2 lbs. per week. Though I’m hesitant to say it, it’s actually been quite easy for me the last few weeks. As I said before, I do very well with boundaries and guidelines, so I’ve been pretty strict with sticking to my “budget” of daily and weekly points. The fruit I’ve been eating has been staving off the cravings for sweets and keeping me satisfied, so I’ve not had any binges or even been tempted to binge.

Sorry...but I have to brag just a little bit.

Sorry…but I have to brag just a little bit.

Today, though, has been a tough one. I don’t know why, but I’ve had a sudden craving for cake and ice cream. The ice cream craving I’ve been able to take care of with Skinny Cow’s Fudge Bars (3 points each). One bar fulfills all of my ice cream desires: it’s cold, it’s chocolatey, it’s creamy and it’s delicious. The cake, however…? That’s another story. I’ve always been a fiend when it comes to baked goods – I absolutely love cakes and cookies and brownies and such, and while I have the extra weekly points to afford a slice of cake or a cupcake, I’m being stingy with my points and not having it. This is both good and bad – it’s good because, well…I don’t need cake, but it’s also bad because the more I deny myself of it, the more I’m going to want it. The more I want it, the more likely I will be to go crazy and buy and entire cake and go nuts. I’ve worked hard to lose these 19 lbs. and I want to keep going, so I’m having to make tough choices about where I want to “spend” my points. Talk about first world problems, right? Look what cake did to Marie Antoinette.

Let Them Eat Cake! - Marie Antoinette

Let Them Eat Cake! – Marie Antoinette

Still, I can see changes happening and I like that. A lot. Of the three pairs of jeans that travel with me, two of them had become my “skinny jeans,” meaning I couldn’t fit into them. I’m proud to say that I’m wearing a pair of them now and feeling fine. My t-shirts are fitting me better and my underwear aren’t digging into my waist anymore. They do still roll down a little from time to time, but at least I don’t have a bright red ring around my waist, dividing me in two like the equator. I’m getting compliments from company members who don’t see me often as they start to notice slight changes in my face and belly. My jackets and sweatshirts aren’t tight around the middle anymore. I went out in just a t-shirt yesterday – no jacket covering me up – and I came this close to going up and introducing myself to someone I saw at the Aquarium that I thought was cute. I chickened out, but the fact that I even considered it is amazing. These are all very good things. I’m quite proud of myself for how far I’ve already come and I’m encouraged to keep going. In the meantime, I’m just going to have to be satisfied with pigging out in my dreams…kind of like that scene in “Young Sherlock Holmes” when Watson is attacked by killer pastries, or the dream sequence in “National Lampoon’s European Vacation” when Audrey is brought so much food that she explodes. That sounds like heaven right now…

2 Responses to “I Want A Feast! Cream Buns And Doughnuts And Fruitcake With No Nuts So Good You Could Go Nuts. No, Now!”

  1. Ariel April 22, 2014 at 9:58 pm #

    Great job! I wish I had your willpower. I am terrible about food. I generally eat healthy, but have a tough time not bingeing on candy.

  2. Nina April 23, 2014 at 9:48 am #

    Awesome, Jason! So proud for you!

Leave a Reply

