As The Stomach Churns

4 Aug

Have you seen this video floating around the internet? It’s someone sticking a McDonald’s cheeseburger in a container of hydrochloric acid to simulate what happens to food when your stomach digests it. My Facebook feed has blown up with statements like, “Fast food eaters: You must watch this!,” and “I’m never eating at McDonald’s again!”

What exactly did people expect when they decided to watch a video of food degrading in a cup of hydrochloric acid…a comedy routine? I promise you – much like a sorority girl on Monday morning, NO food looks good in that situation, whether it came from McDonald’s or your very own kitchen. I mean…have you seen your poop? If you want to quit eating McDonald’s, please do – you’ll probably be better off for it – but as for me and my house…? Pass me a Filet O’ Fish and an apple pie, please.

This sort of reminds me of a fun song that my Mom used to sing to me, though. It went like this:

McDonald’s is my kind of place
They serve you rattlesnakes
Hamburgers up your nose
French fries between your toes
Last time I went there
They fried my underwear!
McDonald’s is my kind of place!

I remember laughing at that a lot. It also gives you some insight into what my mother thought was appropriate for a 4-year old.

Anyway…here’s the video I’m talking about. Make your own life choices based on what you see. Just don’t try to tell other people what they should and shouldn’t eat. After all, this is Amurica.

Leave a Reply

