That Woman Made Brazen Overtures With A Gilt Edge Guarantee!

13 Aug

Tonight at the Ordway, they’re hosting a pre-show party and playing classic Broadway overtures as background music.

I’m a huge fan of the overture which, of late, has been a vanishing breed in Broadway shows. So it got me thinking, what are your favorite Broadway overtures? Here are my Top 15, in no particular order…

1. Funny Girl

2. Guys & Dolls

3. Damn Yankees

4. Candide

5. The Phantom of the Opera

6. Gypsy

7. Carousel

8. Oklahoma!

9. Nine

10. Rags

11. West Side Story

12. The Pajama Game

13. The Music Man

14. Thoroughly Modern Millie

15. Merrily We Roll Along

What’s your favorite? Doesn’t have to be a Top 5/10/15 list – just name your favorite(s). GO!

6 Responses to “That Woman Made Brazen Overtures With A Gilt Edge Guarantee!”

  1. Evan Stern August 13, 2014 at 7:19 pm #

    Now, how are you gonna leave South Pacific off of that list?! 🙂

    • jasonhbratton76 August 13, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

      The overture to “South Pacific” is lovely, but I must admit – the film turned me off of the show. I know that’s awful to admit. I wish I’d been able to see it at Lincoln Center – I heard it was amazing. I also love, love, love the overture to “The King & I.”

  2. Susan Williams August 13, 2014 at 7:21 pm #

    Sunset Boulevard!!!!!!

    • jasonhbratton76 August 13, 2014 at 7:30 pm #

      That is a good one. I love that score. Andrew Lloyd Webber sure does know how to write (and repeat) a tune.

      • Susan August 13, 2014 at 9:29 pm #

        He does repeat the melody over and over but it seems to work. I have my fingers crossed that they revive Sunset someday!

      • jasonhbratton76 August 13, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

        I would hope they will someday. Sadly, the original production was so large, physically speaking, that the show just couldn’t afford to keep running. The set kept breaking down and cost a fortune to run. Between that and not-so-great reviews, it wasn’t a financial success, which is what I think is keeping people from revisiting it. Also, for some reason, it’s trendy to dislike Andrew Lloyd Webber’s work, which I don’t get. Yes, he’s repetitive, but he’s given us some beautiful (if not borrowed) melodies.

Leave a Reply

