Off The Road Again…

16 Jul

Greetings from my temporary home in Brooklyn, New York. Sunday night was our last night of Flashdance in Kansas City and was, as best I can tell, my last night with the show. My boss tells me there’s a chance I may be going back to it at some point in September for a week or two, but that’s all still up in the air. I’d like to say that it was hard to say goodbye to the show and the cast and crew, but it wasn’t really anything for me. It was hard to be sad knowing there’s the possibility that I’ll be going back, even if just for a short while, but I was also acutely aware that it could be the last time I saw them. It was very strange for me to not know exactly how to feel. Regardless of what happens in September, I’m going to miss them all very much and I wish them all the best.

Yesterday we had what amounted to an almost 12 hour travel day. We had a 2-hour delay in Dallas, so I got to my sublet in Brooklyn at around 11:30 last night. It was a long day. And it’s hot here. According to my phone, it was 86° at 11:15 last night. According to the thermostat on my taxi driver’s dashboard it was 91°. Is it autumn yet?

So, here I am, back in New York. I slept in today, enjoying the air conditioning and putting off the 15-minute walk to the subway. I need to go into the office today to drop off paperwork and sort of debrief…talk about the future…all that fun stuff. And I’m working tonight. No rest for the weary. Thank goodness I’m working – I can’t afford to be here for three weeks and not work. Honestly, I couldn’t afford to be here for three days without working! I’m already looking forward to going back into the bubble that is touring, where I don’t have to worry about making my bed or buying toilet paper or paying electric bills or rent. I can’t wait, actually. I guess there’s nothing to do but go out and face this hateful city, though, and try to make amends with her. I better get moving…

4 Responses to “Off The Road Again…”

  1. Ariela Morgenstern July 16, 2013 at 11:49 am #

    It’s a lot cooler in hotels with central air that’s fo sho…. 😉

    • jasonhbratton76 July 16, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

      Amen! You know I don’t do well with this heat. Hope you find an apartment today, Ariela!!

  2. James I July 18, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

    Jaason, some advice on leaving I got from a wonderful actress my first summer of stock; the theatre world is small and the chances are you will meet again. So don’t worry about saying goodbye, just say so long until next time we work together.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What Can One Say About Indianapolis? Not Much, So I’ll Let Menudo Take It From Here… | Confessions of a Merch Whore - October 2, 2013

    […] my very last opening night of Flashdance The Musical. I know I said goodbye to the show back in Kansas City, but I knew there was a chance then that I’d be coming back to the show for a couple of […]

Leave a comment